Are there generators in the studio?

Talk about anything South Park

Moderator: Big-Will

99 i fail
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:42 am

Are there generators in the studio?

Postby 99 i fail » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:53 pm

So as almost all of you know, ep. 1704 isn't airing tonight, but my question is: do they not have generators?? I'm not trying to be a conspiracy theorist here, but it would make sense to have a generator. My house has one, my school has one, and no, I'm not from some filthy-rich bubble.

Would like to hear some discussion, even if it's not specifically directed towards generators, but the incident in general.
If you don't like the direction SP's going in, quit watching.There's nothing we could do about it, unless you're producer or higher in the authority chain.And they won't listen to fan ideas.It's not worth your time to only hate.
Milo Vonnegut 3

Re: Are there generators in the studio?

Postby Milo Vonnegut 3 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:03 pm

Most big buildings do. Schools, business companies, banks, even small markets, churches, malls.
Last edited by Milo Vonnegut 3 on Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Milo Vonnegut 3

Re: Are there generators in the studio?

Postby Milo Vonnegut 3 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:04 pm

Hmmm. You know what? It could a situation like in that book And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. Who knows? :P
Posts: 11181
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 2:36 pm

Re: Are there generators in the studio?

Postby ShaneHaughey » Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:43 pm

Lemmiwinks wasn't running on his treadmill at the time.
That's how it's down here on the farm!
Posts: 5844
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 11:24 pm

Re: Are there generators in the studio?

Postby triplemultiplex » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:10 pm

That assumes the problem could've been solved by an alternative power source and wasn't an issue somewhere else in the building's electrical system.

You read it! You can't unread it!
zzyzx 2
Posts: 598
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Are there generators in the studio?

Postby zzyzx 2 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:24 pm

With all the Mac computers that are used at Southparkstudios, I imagine the wattage would be tremendous. Sure they can afford generators, but making only a few episodes a year it's just not cost effective imo. After 16+ seasons it never happened before. And probably won't happen again.
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:51 am

Re: Are there generators in the studio?

Postby UhhIDontKnow » Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:49 am

Bummer that we have to wait an extra week. But this does reinforce the idea that they take until literally the last minute before air-time to finish these episodes, so I guess this was bound to happen sooner or later.

With this extra week, they should make a bonus episode 11 to make up the delay to us suffering fans :lol:
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: Are there generators in the studio?

Postby Lyon82 » Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:17 pm

Most businesses that use generators have them to power only the most essential of items. For instance, a hospital will only run critical equipment like life support monitors and the like (any many have battery backups as well) while non essential items go dark. A major company might have generators for their servers to continue service to outfacing customers, but most of their other functions would be shut down.

Quite simply, the cost to power an entire animated production, including a couple dozen animating computers, sound recording and processing, an entire rendering farm etc. would just be astronomical.

They've been doing the short term production schedule since pretty early in the show's run. Having one episode go a week late due to a random event after this many years is pretty impressive.

Besides, I am sure that in that blackout they came up with some ideas. 1705 airs the day before Halloween, so they may get to poke fun at themselves and tie it in to whatever they have planned.

Return to “General South Park Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests