Why do humans fear death?

A General discussion about everything other than South Park

Moderator: Big-Will

arr345

Why do humans fear death?

Postby arr345 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:55 pm

Why do humans fear death? Is this a condition that exists in all life or merely in sentient life? If you could be immortal would you? What are your views in how human beings overcome death?
BigGuy101

Re: Why do humans fear death?

Postby BigGuy101 » Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:03 am

I'm no scientist, but I do know that each person's NDE testimony is their own personal experience of a reality that is far more dynamic than physical reality. Detectives know that if you ask several eyewitnesses of a robbery, for example, you will not get exactly the same story and some may even be contradictory or erroneous for various reasons. The reasons why near-death experiences are so different from each other are the same reasons why experiences in this world are different (although there are a large amount of similarities). I have a web page that gives a more in depth discussion on why NDEs are different.

The question as it exists today is whether the NDE is an actual afterlife experience or dying brains mass hallucinating tunnels, light, and being told it isn't time yet. Looking at this from a scientific view, which is somewhat limiting, the only conclusion is that there is no scientific evidence that NDEs are actual afterlife experiences.