Help identifying an episode

Got an SP question you think other people know the answer to?

Moderator: Big-Will

Professor Eric

Help identifying an episode

Postby Professor Eric » Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:03 am

Hello SP Fans,

I have a question about a specific episode, but before I get to the question let me tell you why I’m asking it. As my username suggests, I’m a college professor. Like many of my fellow professors (more than you might think, believe me) I often use a SP episode (or part thereof) to illustrate some point I’m making in a class.

As it happens, I’m teaching a class in libel law and I’m looking for a very specific scene from a SP episode. Unfortunately, my memory of the episode and the scene is extremely foggy. All I remember is that a couple of the boys (I think Cartman might have been one of them) are reading a book (or magazine or newspaper). At any rate, on the last line of one of the pages of the book the author makes a statement that seems clearly to be libelous. One of the boys (again, possibly Cartman), reads this line out loud but then immediately turns the page and reads out loud the phrase “some people have said” (or some phrase like that). The whole point of the scene is that authors who write books containing libelous statements can avoid litigation by simply saying that others have made the statement. That’s all I can remember about the scene, and almost all of what I remember might be completely wrong. But I am positive that one of the boys turns the page of the book and reads a short phrase that (theoretically) immunizes what was on the previous page from litigation. I want to find this scene because the point it attempts to make, though widely believed, is legally incorrect.

That’s all I’ve got for anyone reading this post to go on. But if there is anything to the theory about the wisdom of crowds, someone reading this will know the scene I’m referring to, even if I’ve gotten a lot of the particulars of the scene completely wrong.